Saturday, 12 December 2015

Doctor Who Action Figure Review: 8th Doctor from 'The Night of the Docto...

I take a look at one of the most highly anticipated figures of the year! We finally have our modern 8th Doctor variant!






Saturday, 31 October 2015

Tuesday, 27 October 2015

See the Toys “R” Us exclusive Doctor Who 5.5 inch collector’s series

Exclusive toy range launches and includes a never before seen Eighth Doctor Figure!

Toys “R” Us has linked up with Character Options to bring to Doctor Who fans young and old a very special collector’s series of figures that will be available only in Toys “R” Us Stores in the UK . The new collection of 11 Figures has launched and will be displayed in brand new resealable packaging that allows the figures to be enjoyed out of pack while also storable in pristine condition.
The new 5inch figure series has been created in response to the great demand from Doctor Who fans who are eager to see the return of the highly details larger format. It will include:

* Clara Oswald (played By Jenna Coleman) – the most recent time travelling companion of The Doctor
* Rose Tyler (played By Billie Piper) with K9
* Amy Pond (played by Karen Gillan) in her famed police outfit
* Three separate Eleventh Doctor figures (played by Matt Smith): One in purple Jacket , another donning a cowboy hat as in Doctor Who - A Christmas Carol, and finally a classically posed Eleventh Doctor with a his ubiquitous Sonic device
* Four versions of the current and Twelfth Doctor (played by Peter Capaldi) are also part of the line-up. Known for being a rather dapper Time Lord, there is a choice of figure in White, Black,
Purple or Polka Dot shirt.
* And last but definitely not least a brand new Eighth Doctor figure (played by Paul McGann) and as seen in the episode Night of The Doctor. The Eighth Doctor has never before been seen in the 5 inch figure format and so this piece it bound to whip up a storm with fans.


What’s more, to add variety to this stunning Collector’s series, four 3.75 inch Wave 4 figures will also be available.

Al Dewar, Product Development Director, Character Options commented: “This collector’s series is really special. The fans have been requesting a return to the 5.5 inch format for a long time and in producing this collection I feel we have brought to them exactly what they have been demanding. The most exciting part for me however, is the creation of the Eighth Doctor figure, which is often seen as the missing piece for the true Doctor Who collector.”

Mike Coogan, Marketing & eCommerce Director, Toy “R” Us further commented: “Toy “R” Us has a particular affinity with the Doctor Who fan and each year we like to bring to them something that they could not get anywhere else. This new series is exceptional and I believe one of the most comprehensive collector’s series to date - It will be an instant hit with all collectors.

Saturday, 10 October 2015

UPDATED Pre-Order Night of the Doctor 8th Doctor 5" Figure

A new version of the the 8th Doctor, as seen in his most recent appearance, is due for release as part of the new Collectors Series. There is a rumor that it could be exclusive to Toys R Us in the UK, much like the upcoming Flight Control TARDIS, but there has been no confirmation as of yet.

UPDATE: You can now pre-order the figure, along with the purple shirt Capaldi and Clara, from Forbidden Planet International.

Wednesday, 30 September 2015

First Image of Doctor Who’s Missy Actor with her limited edition figures unveiled


Following the launch of Character Options’ double helping of Exclusive Doctor Who Missy Figures last week, the actress who plays Missy, Michelle Gomez, has been photographed with her miniature alter egos.

The figures have whipped up storm with Doctor Who Fans since they were revealed on Thursday 24th September by way of a virtual press conference hosted by Character’s product development director Alasdair Dewar. Missy is otherwise known as The Master; an arch enemy of the Doctor, but favourite with the fans who have been calling for a collector’s piece of her for some time.

When coming face to face with the figures whilst in New York last week Michelle said: ‘I absolutely adore my new figure! I can just imagine thousands of Missy’s taking over the world one very small step at a time’.

Al Dewar added: Working with Michele Gomez has been so much fun; she was one of the best subjects we’ve ever scanned, patiently holding the perfect pose in both positions for a long period of time. We know that many collectors have been waiting to see if Missy would be included within our collection, it’s great for her finally come to fruition.”

About the figures

Character Options unveiled details of the brand new limited edition, Missy Figures on Thursday 24th September 2015.

Missy, played by Michele Gomez is the villainous Time Lady, who recently revealed herself as the Doctor’s enemy. The Missy Figure is available in two variants; a black jacket version from Series 8 Episode 12; Death and Heaven and a purple outfit version. Standing 5.5 inches tall, the Missy figure includes 18 points of articulation, is highly detailed and realistic. As an added feature, each head can be removed and swapped so that both expressions can be incorporated into each outfit and they both include a teleport accessory and iconic umbrella. The bespoke Collector Series packaging is easy to display and re-sealable so that the Missy can be enjoyed without losing the collector’s authenticity.
Only 4,000 pieces of each have been manufactured for the UK market and are available exclusively online at www.character-online.co.uk for a price of £19.99 each.

Friday, 25 September 2015

Hey Missy! Two new 5" scale Missy figures exclusive from Character-Online!


In an announcement video released yesterday, Al Dewar revealed that two new figures would be joining the new 5.5" Collectors Series - Missy in both Purple and Black outfits.

Both figures come with her umbrella and iPhone style accessory, and each has a removable head allowing you to swap between the two figures.

There are only 4000 of each variant available worldwide and as a fan favourite she is sure to sell out fast. The figure is due to arrive in November and the UK edition features a slightly different packaging design.

You can order now from http://www.character-online.com/products/doctor-who-toys/Limited-Edition-Action-Figures/

Check out the full press release and the video below!






Tuesday, 22 September 2015

Big Doctor Who Announcement from Character Options this Thursday at 10am!

Something big is cooking at Character Options! It's just been revealed that Character will be holding a virtual press conference on September 24th, hosted by Alasdair Dewar.

Al Dewar's name should be very familiar to fans of the Doctor Who range, having been working on the line since the start of the new series of Doctor Who.

No further details have been revealed as to what the announcement may contain, but judging by the background graphic of the image supplied, it could mean we are hearing more about the new 5.5" Collector Series.

Be sure to check out http://www.character-online.com/doctorwhoannoucement/ on Thursday at 10am!


Friday, 18 September 2015

Doctor Who: The Curator Set - Now available to Pre-Order from FPI!

 

Another new 5" Doctor Who figure has hit the web! This time it's the Curator Set, featuring the Doctor's future incarnation of an elderly Tom Baker and the Gallifrey Falls No More painting with a lenticular image!

Pre-order now! 

Thursday, 17 September 2015

Doctor Who Action Figure Review: 12th Doctor - 5" Collector Series!

A new 5" Doctor Who action figure review! It's been almost a year since we've had a new figure in this scale, and here's our first look at the 12th Doctor - Peter Capaldi!

Order from here! 




Saturday, 12 September 2015

Polka Dot 12th Doctor up for Pre-Order from FPI

Just as we're all receiving our 12th Doctor's in white shirts (mine arrived today, expect the usual review next week!) FPI have released the pre-order details from the Kill the Moon variant!

You can pre-order this version by clicking here! 



Tuesday, 21 July 2015

12th Doctor 5" figure at Forbidden Planet!



The new white shirted 12th Doctor is now ready for pre-order through FPI! The figure is £14.99 and due for release in October (weeps).

You can pre-order yours here! 

Monday, 13 July 2015

New 5" Doctor Who Figures on the Horizon from Underground Toys

Well another San Diego Comic Con has come and gone. If you're like me you were probably waiting to see trailers from Doctor Who, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Suicide Squad and everyone's favorite Merc with a Mouth, Deadpool. Of course SDCC wouldn't be the same without a mad amount of awesome toys on display, and Mattel did us proud with their massive Snake Mountain playset for Masters of the Universe Classics. However, one company who we were not anticipating seeing anything new from was Underground Toys, who had a variety of new 5" scale (sorry, 5.5" scale) Doctor Who toys on display.

Firstly they come in new fancy window box packaging complete with 'Collector Series' on the front in a new colour scheme. This get's a thumbs up from me, a much needed refresh to the blue and grey retro packaging. Secondly we have the figures themselves, four different variants of the Twelfth Doctor with different colour shirts. The figure appears to be the same head sculpt as the 3.75" figure, which sadly means the neutral expression doesn't give us Capaldi's trademark arched eyebrows. The white shirted variant also does not include his cardigan. We're off to a good start! The Doctor does appear in this way in a brief blink and you'll miss it scene, but otherwise it just seems like a major gaff. There's also a more accurate purple shirt, black and white polka dot version, and an unseen black version.


Next we have Clara Oswald, so we don't have to worry about using Oswin to double for her. This figure appears to be a straight up repaint of Oswin, a blue dress, new shoes and no utility belt. Does Clara ever wear this ensemble? No. She wears something sort of similar in The Name of the Doctor, but that actually had a pattern on it. Not wishing to split hairs about inaccuracy, but that's probably as good as it's ever going to get. It put's me in the mind of Dapol's Mel being released in pink and blue, the latter being an incorrect sculpt and missing polka dots.

Finally we have the Curator. Underground knew we wanted all the incarnations of the Doctor, and they're giving them to us! Does that mean we can have a Valeyard now? No? Pfff, fine, have it your own way. This came totally out of left field. No one in their right mind would have ever thought we'd get an old man Tom Baker figure, but here he is. Again, he's not 100% accurate, the shirt's missing the cravat and the collar seems quite high, possibly to hide his missing cravat, but he does look pretty darned good. He also comes packaged with the painting of Gallifrey Falls No More, which is in fact lenticular! Very nice! The interior of the packaging also features the inside of the gallery, AKA the Curator's TARDIS.

There's no word on where, when or how much these figures will be, but there's already talk of £20-30 for the Curator set and probably £20 for the standard figures. There's also some talk of the various Twelfth Doctor variants being exclusive to particular stores, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.

As a little aside, but also part of this new collector's range, Al Dewar released some lovely pictures of the Twelfth (yes, no long Eleventh) Doctor's Flight Control TARDIS exclusive to Toys R Us in the UK. No word on price yet, but with all the bells and whistles of the original, including a new light up door panel, would suggest £20-30.

Saturday, 20 June 2015

Doctor Who Figure Updates: 3.75" Into the Dalek set and possible 5" 12th Doctor variants?


Argos finally revealed an image of their upcoming Into the Dalek Time Zone set priced at £49.99. The set includes the 12th Doctor, a new version of Clara as seen in The Time of the Doctor and Deep Breath as well as a standard bronze Dalek, a black Dalek Sec-like Dalek with black and red hovabout (akin to the US Stealth ship) and an exclusive electronic 'Rusty' Dalek, which glides. The set also includes the usual cardboard playset featuring a balcony and card board version of the machine used to shrink the Doctor and Clara. Overall it sounds like a very impressive set considering the price point.

Finally it is worth mentioning that US based store WhoNA has revealed they have been offered a variety of four 5" 12th Doctor variants:

"We have been solicited (offered for sale) for 4 different types of 5″ 12th Doctor figures – Black outfit, Red outfit, White outfit and a Polka Dot outfit. No other details just yet as to when arriving or pricing – we will just have to wait for more information."

This news comes just after WhoNA explained there would be no SDCC exclusive figure this year.


Saturday, 30 May 2015

Doctor Who 5" Collector Series - What We Know So Far

Yesterday was quite an info dump as Al Dewar took to Twitter to reveal news about upcoming releases, particularly the longtime discussed Collector Series.

First things first, no Classic figures. Yeah, that's a kick in the nads to everyone who was clinging to the earlier hope of Jamie, Sarah, Tegan, Ainley Master and a 70s Silurian. Unfortunately plans change and sadly the Classic characters don't sell as well as contemporary Who. So please excuse me while I go and cry in a corner *Sobs and wails inconsolably*.

Okay, *sniff* now that's out of the way lets look at what we might get, I say might because as ever it may not been 100% green lit. So we could see figures of the new Ice Warrior and Zygon designs seen in series 7 and the 50th anniversary special as well as the most recent design of Cybermen. Variations of Clara may also become available as well as a number of other monsters from series 6 - 7, I say 6 -7 simply because 1 - 5 are pretty much covered. I hope that the 8th Doctor in his Night of the Doctor outfit may also get a look in, after all that was from the New Series! You know what I'm saying Character? Maybe a Curator? Okay, maybe that's pushing it.

But wait, what about the 12th Doctor? Well apparently its a no there too. Hmmm, that's rather peculiar. This also explains why I didn't mention series 8 in the previous paragraph, just in case current series characters aren't on the table. That would be very weird, but perhaps CO don't wish to put up too much competition with their 3.75" line. However, a recent post from the guys at WhoNA said that they were pretty sure a 5" Capaldi was on the way but they weren't able to say more, so I would very much guess that this would be our SDCC exclusive for 2015. As ever this is just me surmising, I could be talking nonsense.

Finally there's a new Flight Control TARDIS (yes, 5" scale) coming exclusive to Toys R Us in the UK. This is a new version of the 11th Doctor's FC TARDIS featuring all of the lights from the previous 10th Doctor model and also includes an illuminated 'PULL TO OPEN' door sign and comes in a different shade of blue to the previous version (sans the authentic lights). This is brilliant news! Finally, a decent model for the 11th Doctor's TARDIS! I would guess this features the interior from The Snowmen, but again - why not the 12th Doctor's TARDIS? Very peculiar, but that's a very easy fix for customisers.

So that's all we know for now, but it's going to be interesting to see what happens next with the Collector Series and what we'll end up getting. Maybe if it's successful enough they'll creep a Classic monster or two into the fray, after all we were never going to Classics or Classic companions or Classic 3.75" figures. I live in hope for the time being, but here's to the future of the 5" line in some capacity.

Monday, 25 May 2015

Doctor Who: First Doctor Scene Recreations - Big Chief Studios 1:6 Figur...

Something a little different from recent uploads, a selection of scenes from the First Doctor's era using Big Chief's Commemorative Edition 1:6 scale figure!

Friday, 15 May 2015

Monday, 11 May 2015

Doctor Who for Lego Dimensions Video Game


It's the news we've all been waiting to hear since Lego announced they'd be releasing a set of Doctor Who Lego, the good Doctor will be appearing alongside Batman, The Lord of the Rings, The Wizard of Oz, Back to the Future, and a host of other franchises in Lego's upcoming video game.

The game works in a similar fashion to games like Skylanders and Disney Infinity where you purchase the game along with some little plastic stand and then you buy various mini-figures, or in this case mini-sets, that you then place on the stand to unlock the character and levels of the game. So it's going to be an expensive business just setting the game up, let alone trying to unlock everything.


The Doctor Who based set features the current Doctor, Peter Capaldi, alongside K-9 and miniature version of the TARDIS as well as some kind of backdrop.

There's still no news on Lego's main Doctor Who set they announced earlier in the year, but  it shouldn't be too long before we hear some more news on what it will contain.

Wednesday, 29 April 2015

The TARDIS at 221B Baker Street - Big Chief's Upcoming Dioramas

Big Chief have posted a photo that is bound to please fans of Doctor Who  and Sherlock alike - an image featuring a closer look at the 11th and 10th Doctor['s TARDISes outside their upcoming diorama of the world famous sleuth's front door.

Eagle eyed readers will also spot the packaging for their Weeping Angel polystone statue in the background.


The completed 221B diorama was displayed at the BBC's Sherlock themed convention over the weekend, along with some of their other Doctor Who  products.

More info as it comes!

Friday, 24 April 2015

Doctor Who Throwback Thursday: Clockwork Man (Blue) - Review

It's 2007! Doctor Who figures are in the 5.5" scale and they're between seven and eight quid a piece! Those were the days, eh? I begin throwback Thursday's with the blue Clockwork Man (or Droid, depending on what you prefer!)




Thursday, 16 April 2015

Throwback Thursday Reviews - Coming Soon!

Remember this advert? 2006 was a fantastic time to be a Doctor Who fan, especially if you liked toys. 
In last Saturday's review of the BBC Shop's Rory Williams I asked people if they would be interested in me going back to review older figures from the 5" line. As you all know I never reviewed the New Series figures that were being released at the time (despite collecting the majority of them) because it was something other YouTubers had covered. However, this new series will be not only be a review of the figure as per my other reviews but also talk about some of the nostalgic value. Very often I take a look at those figures and I can clearly remember the excitement of going out to buy them with whomever and when they were first announced etc.

So please join me next Thursday at 4pm GMT as I take a look at one of the early figures from the line! It's going to be something of a lucky dip, choosing figures in a fairly random fashion (so don't expect me to chronicle the figures from the Dalek Battle Packs onwards. I shall leave that to these excellent posts by Jonathon Carley!) These should run fairly regularly, unless something new comes out and I review that at the same time on a Wednesday. 

As well as this, the new reviews with Billy and the He-Man episode, there are a couple of other ideas for new videos being thrown around that I hope to announce soon! Stay tuned guys! 

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Thursday, 9 April 2015

Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Batman Animated Review: Catwoman - The Animated Series

My last Batman review! I take a look at Catwoman from the original 1992 Animated Series. But is she really purrfect? Find out below!

Order yours here!




Tuesday, 24 March 2015

By the Power of Grayskull!


It's been a while since I posted any updates on the He-Man project, so I thought I'd fill you in on what's happening!

Currently I am about a 3/4 of the way through shooting the one-off pilot, and all of my vices have been recorded so that recording can begin in earnest! The majority of the other roles have already been cast and I can't wait to see how the images and the vocals come together. I am incredibly pleased with how the footage has come out so far but it is going to be a very tricky one to edit with lots of green screen and masking work needed. 



The images accompanying this article show off the largest set I have ever built for any animation. It measures five foot long, three foot deep and just over two foot tall! It's a bit of a tricky one to record in, but it's an impressive set piece. 



The exterior of Castle Grayskull will form the centre of a battle between the heroic Masters of the Universe and Skeletor's Evil Warriors. Once these scenes have been recorded filming will take place within the castle walls and then all of the green screen work.


As of yet there is no release date scheduled, but I shall be posting more updates as editing begins! 

Monday, 23 March 2015

Doctor Who: Rose - Review 10th Anniversary Special

It celebration of 10 years since Doctor Who returned to our screens, Billy and I sit down to re-evaluate the episode that started it all- Rose. What starts as a normal review soon gets into delving deep into the internal politics of the show during its development and how Doctor Who would be perceived in the 21st Century.





Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Doctor Who Action Figure Review: Children of the Revolution - Dalek Set 1

Taking a look at one of last year's later releases from the 3.75" range that is exclusive to Toys R Us, it's The Children of the Revolution Dalek Collector Set #1!




Thursday, 12 March 2015

Classic Doctor Who DVD Deals from the BBC Shop!


The BBC Shop have some amazing offers on classic Doctor Who DVDs! Nearly every DVD is £5.99! This is a great way to finish your collection or a good way to get yourself started!

Click here for 3 DVDs for £15 

Click here for 2 Box Sets for £18


Thursday, 5 March 2015

Thursday, 26 February 2015

Batman Animated Review: Two-Face - The New Adventures

Two-Face is here! The man who lives his life based on the toss of a coin has arrived, but will chance be a factor in your purchase?

Order yours here! 




Thursday, 19 February 2015

Filming begins on He-Man and the Masters of the Universe


A new menace is making its way on to my channel in the form of Skeletor's Evil Warriors! Filming for the twenty minute pilot began on February 17th starting with the opening scene where Trap-Jaw, Tri-Klops and Beast Man pay a visit to Tornal, the supplier of magical implements.



The filming is now taking place in a new location too. A makeshift studio has been put together in the attic to make filming easier and to also allow for greater shots and larger sets.

Tonight will see filming continue in Snake Mountain...


Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Batman Animated Review: Batman - New Adventures

The first in a new series of reviews! I look at DC Collectibles latest line of 6" figures based on Batman the Animated Series!

Order yours here!